Inicio » Noticias » Obama’s “Unprecedented” Remarks: Is the President Running Against the Supreme Court?

Obama’s “Unprecedented” Remarks: Is the President Running Against the Supreme Court?

By Adam Sorensen

“I’m confident that the Supreme Court will not take what would be an unprecedented extraordinary step of overturning a law that was passed by a strong majority of a democratically elected Congress,” President Obama said Monday of the High Court’s consideration of his signature health care legislation. Congressional margins and Presidential opinion–even from a Harvard-trained law professor–do not a case for constitutionality make. But Obama’s remarks signal that it’s an issue for which he may be ready to go to war.

That’s the question burning up the intertubes in the wake of a less than stellar performance by Solicitor General Don Verrilli last week in oral arguments: If health reform is struck down, will Obama seek to make the Supreme Court an issue in the upcoming election? Jim Clyburn, the third ranking Democrat in the House, recommends it. Jon Meacham warns against it. It’s all a bit premature, given that the fate of the Affordable Care Act remains in limbo and political considerations are relatively trivial compared to the broader legal and policy implications of the court’s decision. But given Obama’s comments and, let’s be honest, two months of dead air before the Roberts Court reads everybody in on what’s going to happen, the issue is worth parsing.

The bench has not been the same kind of galvanizing political force on the left as it has the right. The 2010 Citizens United v. FEC ruling that opened campaign finance to the corporate fire-hose has become a liberal bugaboo, but it’s still a cuddly gremlin compared to the parade of horrors the conservative psyche has perceived perpetrated against it: active liberal courts in the 1960s and ’70s, the advent of Borking, the filibuster of Miguel Estrada and so on. Most relevantly, charges of “judicial activism” have been mainstays of Republican arm-waving for years.

Obama invoked these grievances in his Monday remarks on the court. “I would just remind conservative commentators that for years what we have heard is the biggest problem on the bench was judicial activism or a lack of judicial restraint. That an unelected group of people would somehow overturn a duly constituted and passed law. Well, this is a good example and I am pretty confident that this court will recognize that and not take that step,” he said. Again, his reasons for being confident are circuitous–Obama’s basically arguing that the court will uphold because Obama thinks it should–and his scolding, while not on par with Newt Gingrich’s call for “activist judges” to be arrested, closely mirrors traditional conservative gripes.

That may seem out of character for a constitutional law prof–noting that Justices are “unelected” is about as profound as observing that the Senate gives disproportionate power to smaller states: that’s just the way it is. But Obama’s complaints aren’t without precedent. In his 2010 State of the Union address, Obama admonished the justices sitting just a few yards away for “revers[ing] a century of law” in the Citizens United decision and called on Congress to “right this wrong.” Shots at the Supreme Court appeared regularly in his speeches at fundraisers and Democratic rallies during that year’s midterms.

So does that mean Obama will run against the health care decision if it goes against him? Not necessarily. For the last several years, the Supreme Court’s approval rating has been dropping. But in the mid 40s, it’s roughly as popular as Obama. According to Pew, last week’s publicity frenzy damaged the court in a minority of Americans’ eyes, but it did similar damage to the health care law itself. As an institutional targets in Washington go, Congress is much fatter target for Obama to hit.

More importantly, health reform isn’t Citizens UnitedEight in 10 Americans said they disapproved of the court’s ruling in early 2010, including 65% who felt “strongly” about it and 72% who said they favored congressional action to turn to reinstate campaign finance restrictions. More recently, a March 2012 survey found that 69% of Americans favor banning super PACs, the advocacy groups CU helped create. The Affordable Care Act, meanwhile, splits the public closely and the main provision facing excision by the Supreme Court, a national requirement to purchase health insurance, is the least popular part of the law. A poll released last month found not only that a majority of Americans thought that the mandate would be struck down, 51% said it should be.

The President’s political team knows all this, which leaves two possibilities for what Obama was up to on Monday. He may simply hope that this is an issue that can excite the base and turn out Democrats in the fall. How effective this can be is unclear–oral arguments certainly animated liberal columnists, but I’m not sure the Democratic base shares their passion for the law, either in abstract or specifically the ACA. The other, more likely possibility is that Obama was not trying to influence November’s election; he was trying to sway the court itself. As much as politicians try to hold the judicial branch to an apolitical standard, Supreme Court Justices really are political actors. As his predecessors have, Chief Justice John Roberts worries about his institution’s reputation. For Obama, the threat of a scorched earth campaign against the High Court may be more effective than such an effort would be in and of itself.

http://swampland.time.com/2012/04/03/obamas-unprecedented-remarks-is-the-president-preparing-to-run-against-the-supreme-court/?iid=sl-main-lede

*****

118 comentarios

  1. These are genuinely impressive ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some good things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  2. symptoms from low vitamin d…

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. ๏ฟฝ…

  3. You must be very astute at research and writing. This shows up in your original and unique content. I agree with your primary points on this topic. This content should be seen by more readers.

  4. lose weight dice:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.

    I am trying to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok
    to use some of your ideas!!

  5. I like how this article is written. Your points are sound, original, fresh and interesting. This information has been made so clear there’s no way to misunderstand it. Thank you. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  6. Ellie Bacak dice:

    I simply want to mention I am just very new to blogs and actually liked this web page. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You actually have beneficial posts. Thanks a lot for sharing your webpage.

  7. Para Ma dice:

    Blogs ou should be reading…

    […]Here is a Great Blog You Might Find Interesting that we Encourage You[…]……

  8. Having read this I thought it was very informative. I appreciate you spending some time
    and effort to put this content together. I once again find myself
    personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  9. This website is really a walk-by means of for all the information you wanted about this and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse right here, and you’ll positively discover it.

  10. I simply want to say I am just new to blogging and site-building and definitely savored you’re web site. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really have exceptional articles and reviews. Cheers for revealing your webpage.

  11. I really like what you’ve done with the thmeme but I was asking myself if you are the one that created it or you just bought it and customized it?

  12. Good evening! I was surfing arround on Google and came across this blog. Some good information in here! I also have a website . Please feel free to leave a comment there.

  13. Carlos Hakansson dice:

    Thank you very much for your kind comment. Please, keep in touch.
    Sincerely yours

  14. Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue along with your site in web explorer, may check this? IE still is the market chief and a good part of other people will miss your excellent writing due to this problem.

  15. Lucio Wunder dice:

    what i wanted to say is i really need some rest and that this blog is starting to sound good

  16. Darwin Auces dice:

    Hi, Neat post. There is an issue together with your site in web explorer, might check this… IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a good section of other people will omit your wonderful writing because of this problem.

  17. Click Here dice:

    Hi. this is kind of an -unconventional- question , but have other visitors asked you how get the menu bar to look like you’ve got it? I also have a blog and am really looking to alter around the theme, however am scared to death to mess with it for fear of the search engines punishing me. I am very new to all of this …so i am just not positive exactly how to try to to it all yet. I’ll just keep working on it one day at a time.

  18. Meals along with anti aging health supplements abundant with Vitamin B6 and also B12 reduce the means of aging and may boost your storage energy also.Among all the anti-aging dietary supplements, supplements using Vitamin K is considered to become the most effective inside anti – ageing along with beneficial for wellness also. This kind of herb is not a one-stop strategy to decelerate skin aging procedure. It also revitalizes the particular collagen extra padding of the epidermis.

  19. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  20. What i do not realize is in fact how you’re not really much more smartly-appreciated than you may be right now. You’re so intelligent. You recognize thus significantly in the case of this subject, made me in my view imagine it from numerous varied angles. Its like women and men aren’t interested unless it is something to do with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. At all times maintain it up!

  21. Adequately properly well explore the things we include in this article. It looks like another spectacular blogging site that a load of people are commenting on. Thank you as much with respect to the insightful data as well as judgment, I signed upped to the reviews in case someone wishes to come by and possess a contention on this item

  22. Adequately adequately properly check out exactly what we include right here. It appears to be an additional incredible blog site that a load of folks are commenting on. Thank you a lot with regard to the knowledgeable data as well as wisdom, I subscribed to the opinions in case another desires to turn up as well as receive a controversy on this stuff

  23. If everyone was like you the world would be a a lot much better location to live in. Great perception, maintain up the very good operate. My website: http://bit.ly/I2o8WD

  24. There is noticeably a bunch to identify about this. I feel you made some nice points in features also.

  25. Your windfall benefit for these refinancing options is actually poor creditors also can seize this opportunity. As a result also you’ve bad credit rating there is nothing to worry about.

  26. Lamar Axley dice:

    I and my friends have already been digesting the nice tricks from your web site then all of the sudden came up with an awful suspicion I had not expressed respect to the website owner for them. These men appeared to be totally very interested to read through all of them and already have pretty much been taking pleasure in those things. Appreciation for turning out to be very accommodating and also for picking out this form of awesome things most people are really wanting to be informed on. My sincere regret for not saying thanks to you earlier.

  27. I really like what you’ve done with the thmeme but I was asking myself if you are the one that created it or you just bought it and customized it?

  28. I haven’t checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  29. Absolutely written articles, thanks for information. “The last time I saw him he was walking down Lover’s Lane holding his own hand.” by Fred Allen.

  30. hair fall dice:

    Congratulations for posting such a useful blog. Your blog isn’t only informative but also extremely artistic too. There usually are extremely couple of individuals who can write not so easy articles that creatively. Keep up the good writing !!

  31. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for!

  32. I haven’t checked in here for a while because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  33. I concur with the reckoned.Thank you for your sharing.

  34. I was looking at some of your posts on this internet site and I conceive this web site is real instructive! Continue posting.

  35. Keep up the excellent work , I read few blog posts on this website and I think that your web blog is real interesting and contains circles of great information.

  36. I like this web blog very much, Its a really nice billet to read and find info . “The superior man is modest in his speech, but exceeds in his actions.” by Confucius.

  37. Dreary Day…

    It was a dreary day here today, so I just took to piddeling around on the internet and realized…

  38. We offer an Feed writer you could quickly implement on the internet site. Make use of the “RSS Supply Parser” hyperlink about the food selection in remaining and also type in the necessary information around the variety to make your individual nourish.

  39. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I certainly enjoyed every little bit of it. I have you book marked to check out new things you post…

  40. I truly appreciate this post. I’ve been looking all over for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

  41. Len Prezzia dice:

    Great information. Lucky me I came across your website by accident (stumbleupon). I have saved as a favorite for later!

  42. hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

  43. I was very pleased to discover this website. I wanted to thank you for ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to see new stuff on your website.

  44. Awesome website…

    […]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]……

  45. This is a truly good site post. Not every visitor would stop to consider this, the way you did. I am glad that there is so much value that have been uncovered and you did it so well, with so much class. I just thought that you might be new to electronic cigarettes, than by all means come in and check our stuff.

  46. Sources…

    […]check below, are some totally unrelated websites to ours, however, they are most trustworthy sources that we use[…]……

  47. Recent Blogroll Additions……

    […]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[…]……

  48. camescope hd dice:

    I like this blog very much, Its a rattling nice place to read and get info . “It is impossible for a man to learn what he thinks he already knows.” by Epictetus.

  49. Sites we Like……

    […] Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose […]……

  50. Recommeneded websites…

    […]Here are some of the sites we recommend for our visitors[…]……

  51. You could definitely see your expertise within the work you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time go after your heart. “Experience is a good school, but the fees are high.” by Heinrich Heine.

  52. Related……

    […]just beneath, are numerous totally not related sites to ours, however, they are surely worth going over[…]……

  53. Check this out…

    […] that is the end of this article. Here you’ll find some sites that we think you’ll appreciate, just click the links over[…]……

  54. You should check this out…

    […] Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine a few unrelated data, nevertheless really worth taking a look, whoa did one learn about Mid East has got more problerms as well […]……

  55. solicitors dice:

    Blogs ou should be reading…

    […]Here is a Great Blog You Might Find Interesting that we Encourage You[…]……

  56. Cool sites…

    […]we came across a cool site that you might enjoy. Take a look if you want[…]……

  57. Recent Blogroll Additions……

    […]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[…]……

  58. You should check this out…

    […] Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine a few unrelated data, nevertheless really worth taking a look, whoa did one learn about Mid East has got more problerms as well […]……

  59. I like the efforts you have put in this, regards for all the great posts.

  60. Fleshlight dice:

    Superb website…

    […]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[…]……

  61. vélo enfant dice:

    I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my website :). “The part can never be well unless the whole is well.” by Saul Bellow.

  62. Lb . coins tend to be minted through the Noble Perfect throughout Llantrisant, Wales within sects including a single dollar, a pair of pence, several pence, 10 pence, 20 pence, a single lb . and a couple lbs.

  63. Thanks, I have just been looking for information about this subject for ages and yours is the best I have found out till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you positive about the source?

  64. Absolutely written articles, thanks for information. “The last time I saw him he was walking down Lover’s Lane holding his own hand.” by Fred Allen.

  65. I like this web blog so much, bookmarked. “I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true.” by Dorothy Parker.

  66. Then more mates can talk about this issue

  67. Websites we think you should visit…

    […]although websites we backlink to below are considerably not related to ours, we feel they are actually worth a go through, so have a look[…]……

  68. Some genuinely fantastic information, Gladiolus I detected this. “If a child can’t learn the way we teach, maybe we should teach the way they learn.” by Ignacio Estrada.

  69. I really like your writing style, good information, regards for putting up :D. “Silence is more musical than any song.” by Christina G. Rossetti.

  70. Read was interesting, stay in touch……

    […]please visit the sites we follow, including this one, as it represents our picks from the web[…]……

  71. Related……

    […]just beneath, are numerous totally not related sites to ours, however, they are surely worth going over[…]……

  72. Wohh precisely what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting . “Study men, not historians.” by Harry S Truman.

  73. Enjoyed reading through this, very good stuff, thanks . “Golf isn’t a game, it’s a choice that one makes with one’s life.” by Charles Rosin.

  74. great post, very informative I wonder why the other specialists of this sector don’t notice this You should continue your writing I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

  75. qr codes dice:

    Websites we think you should visit…

    […]although websites we backlink to below are considerably not related to ours, we feel they are actually worth a go through, so have a look[…]……

  76. Gems form the internet…

    […]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[…]……

  77. Cool sites…

    […]we came across a cool site that you might enjoy. Take a look if you want[…]……

  78. Gems form the internet…

    […]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[…]……

  79. photo prints dice:

    Awesome website…

    […]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]……

  80. Superb website…

    […]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[…]……

  81. I am ipressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lots of good resources here. If wanted to know more about green smoke review, than by all means come in and check our stuff. I am sure I will visit this place again soon. Nice job, it’s a great article. All the best.

  82. I like this site so much, saved to favorites .

  83. I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thank you, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your web site’

  84. I love the efforts you have put in this, thanks for all the great articles.

  85. You are my inspiration, I have few web logs and occasionally run out from brand . “Actions lie louder than words.” by Carolyn Wells.

  86. I have recently started a site, the information you offer on this website has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work. “Her grandmother, as she gets older, is not fading but rather becoming more concentrated.” by Paulette Bates Alden.

  87. I was very ecstatic to find this site on google.I wanted to say thank you to you with regard to this great post!! I undoubtedlyliked every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  88. viagra dice:

    Can’t wait to read more from your blog. My site Buy Viagra

  89. Thanks for your post, seriously, can you turn out to be a contributor for wikipedia simply because the current stuff in there for our interest is frankly garbage. I can not say I agree absolutely with it but I agree with it on the most component and I wholeheartedly applaud your work in putting it so succinctly.

  90. I simply could not leave your website prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual information an individual supply on your guests? Is gonna be back regularly to check up on new posts.

  91. gps moto dice:

    Magnificent website. A lot of helpful information here. I am sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you to your sweat!

  92. You got a truly useful blog I have been here reading for about an hour. I am a newbie as well as your success is extremely significantly an inspiration for me.

  93. Superb website…

    […]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[…]……

  94. Websites you should visit…

    […]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[…]……

  95. Great website…

    […]we like to honor many other internet sites on the web, even if they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages worth checking out[…]……

  96. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Carry on the excellent works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site 🙂

  97. Really excellent info can be found on website . “Life without a friend is death without a witness.” by Eugene Benge.

  98. Only wanna input that you have a very decent internet site , I enjoy the style it really stands out.

  99. You should check this out…

    […] Wonderful story, reckoned we could combine a few unrelated data, nevertheless really worth taking a look, whoa did one learn about Mid East has got more problerms as well […]……

  100. Thanks for this post. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my brother so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  101. hair dice:

    Only wanna input on few general things, The website pattern is perfect, the subject material is really wonderful. “The idea of God is the sole wrong for which I cannot forgive mankind.” by Marquis de Sade.

  102. Alla Vautour dice:

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  103. Related……

    […]just beneath, are numerous totally not related sites to ours, however, they are surely worth going over[…]……

  104. Basically to follow up on the update of this issue on your blog and would like to let you know simply how much I appreciated the time you took to put together this valuable post. In the post, you spoke on how to definitely handle this matter with all ease. It would be my own pleasure to accumulate some more tips from your web page and come as much as offer other folks what I have learned from you. Thanks for your usual excellent effort.

  105. You are my intake, I possess few web logs and infrequently run out from brand :). “Never mistake motion for action.” by Ernest Hemingway.

  106. Gems form the internet…

    […]very few websites that happen to be detailed below, from our point of view are undoubtedly well worth checking out[…]……

  107. Hi I like your blog. Do you need to visitor publish on mine someday? If so you should inform me by means of email or simply answer this particular remark simply due to the fact I enrolled in announcements and definately will know should you.

  108. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  109. yuken india dice:

    Sites we Like……

    […] Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose […]……

  110. Hello there I like your wewebsite. Would you like to visitor submit in mine at some point? In that case you should let me know by means of e mail or simply answer this kind of opinion simply due to the fact We subscribed to notifications and can know should you choose.

  111. I like what I see so i’m just subsequent you. Look ahead to exploring your web web page but once more.

  112. Related……

    […]just beneath, are numerous totally not related sites to ours, however, they are surely worth going over[…]……

  113. payday loans dice:

    Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  114. Sites we Like……

    […] Every once in a while we choose blogs that we read. Listed below are the latest sites that we choose […]……

  115. Websites you should visit…

    […]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[…]……

  116. This is a topic that is near to my heart… Take care! Exactly where are your contact
    details though?

  117. I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  118. bacalao dice:

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I am not sure whether this
    post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty.

    You are amazing! Thanks!

Responder

